Skip to main content Skip to footer




Local Area Committees and Boards

The following is a list of area joint Boards, Commissions and Committees where Parry Sound Council appoints lay and/or Council representatives. Individuals interested in applying to be a member of one of the following Board, Commission or Committee(s) are encouraged to complete the application form and submit to Clerk Rebecca Johnson at Appointments are typically made for the duration of a 4-year term of Council or to fill a vacancy for the remainder of Council term. 

9-1-1 Management Committee - Lead Municipality Township of McKellar

The 9-1-1 Management Committee was established in 1998 to provide advice on the 9-1-1 service.

Belvedere Heights Board 

A Board of Management is appointed to operate and maintain one or more municipal homes under the Long-Term Care Homes Act, 2007, O. Reg. 79/10.

For more information, visit the Belvedere Heights website.

Community Policing Advisory Committee

A community policing advisory committee shall advise the detachment commander of the Ontario Provincial Police detachment assigned to the municipality, or municipalities, or his or her designate, with respect to objectives and priorities for police services in the municipality or municipalities, in accordance with the Police Services Act of Ontario, Section 5.1.

For more information, visit the OPP website.

District of Parry Sound Municipal Association

Formed in 1936 and representing all District of Parry Sound municipalities, school boards and road commissions in unorganized Townships in Parry Sound District and Part of Nipissing District if they are members in good standing. DPSMA is a forum to present resolutions for expressing concerns about local municipal issues. The resolutions are forwarded to the appropriate ministries or agencies.

For more information, contact Karlee Britton

North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit Board

The Health Protection and Promotion Act (HPPA) authorizes the governing body, the Board of Health, and its staff to control communicable disease and other health hazards in the community. It also mandates the health unit to perform proactive functions in the area of health promotion and disease prevention.

For more information, visit the North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit website.

Park to Park Trail Association Board

Currently the Park to Park Trail Association has an active Board of Directors providing guidance and support to the staff and volunteers of the Park to Park Trail. The board consists of community members from across the Park to Park region, from Carling to Huntsville to Kearney. We are fortunate to have representation from six municipal councils, two snowmobile districts, as well as local businesses and non-profit organizations.

For more information, visit the Park to Park Trail website.

Parry Sound Area Chamber of Commerce Board

The Parry Sound Area Chamber of Commerce creates an environment to support local member businesses and the community by providing opportunities for networking, partnerships, use of government services, advocacy, education, and marketing.

For more information, visit the Parry Sound Area Chamber of Commerce website.

Parry Sound Area Industrial Park Board

The Parry Sound Area Industrial Park was established in the 1970s to become an industrial area with an ultimate size of 900 acres on the west side of Highway 69 in Carling Township. It is operated through an operational agreement consisting of three local area municipalities which are Carling Township, the Municipality of McDougall, and the Town of Parry Sound.  Each municipality appoints representatives to the Parry Sound Area Industrial Park Board to manage the affairs of the Park.

For more information, visit the Parry Sound Area Industrial Park website.

Parry Sound Area Municipal Airport Commission

The Commission is responsible for operating, maintaining and improving an aerodrome (airport) in compliance with the Aeronautics Act, R.S.C. 1985 and Air Regulations Canada. This airport is located in the Township of Seguin.

For more information, visit the Parry Sound Area Municipal Airport website.

Parry Sound District Social Services Administration Board 

The District of Parry Sound Social Services Administration Board is a corporation that was formed by the District Social Services Administration Boards Act in February 1999. The Board is represented by Municipalities and Unincorporated areas within the geographic area of the District of Parry Sound through the appointment of 15 Board members.

For more information, visit the Parry Sound District Social Services Administration Board website.

Parry Sound Public Library Board

The mission of the Parry Sound Public Library Board is "to be the gateway to a lifelong love of reading, joy of learning, and search for information". The Board seeks to provide a comprehensive and efficient public library service that reflects the community's unique needs. Per the Public Libraries Act, the Board is composed of no less than five members and no more than nine members. Five members shall represent the Town of Parry Sound; additional members may be appointed on the basis of one representative per contracting municipality for library services. Currently those municipalities are Carling, McDougall and The Archipelago. Appointments are made by resolution by the Town of Parry Sound per By-law 2017-6698.

For more information on programs and services, visit the Parry Sound Public Library website.

West Parry Sound Recreation and Cultural Centre Board

The purpose of the Board is to construct, maintain and operate the West Parry Sound Recreation and Cultural Centre. The Board acts as an agent on behalf of six area municipalities:  The Archipelago, Carling, McDougall, McKellar, Parry Sound and Seguin, and two non-voting First Nations: Shawanaga and Wasauksing. The Municipality of Whitestone is a donor to the Centre, and has a separate agreement with the Board. 

The Board was established by agreement executed by the participating municipalities on September 10th, 2021, the culmination of decades of effort and interest in building a pool in the West Parry Sound Area. The $32 million capital project is being funded at 73% through an Investing in Canada Infrastructure (ICIP) grant. The six participating partner municipalities are contributing the remaining 27% based on an allocation formula that recognizes population, number of households, taxable assessment and driving distance. Ongoing operation of the Centre will use the same funding formula.

For more information on the West Parry Sound Recreation and Cultural Centre, including accessing agendas, minutes, live stream and recordings of meetings,  check out their dedicated website

West Parry Sound District Museum Board

The museum was created to collect, conserve, and research, house, and exhibit and interpret those objects that best serve to illustrate the history of the West Parry Sound District. There are 15 Directors on the Board; 7 of which are appointed by each participating municipality with the remainder being chosen from the general membership.

For more information, visit the Museum on Tower Hill website.

West Parry Sound Election Compliance Audit Committee

This committee meets when a written election compliance complaint is filed by a municipal elector with the one of the Clerks of the West Parry Sound area participating municipalities of The Archipelago, Carling, McDougall, McKellar, Parry Sound, Seguin or Whitestone.  All participating municipalities have adopted similar Committee Terms of Reference. 

Contact Us


Town of Parry Sound
52 Seguin Street
Parry Sound, ON P2A 1B4
T. (705) 746-2101
F. (705) 746-7461

Monday - Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM ET
Closed on statutory holidays