The Parry Sound Fire Department was founded in 1890. The original steam pumper had to pump water out of the river for fire control. The first water works was put into service in 1892 which was quite early for a community the size of Parry Sound.
The original Fire Hall was in use for 100 years beginning in 1893. It was replaced by the current Fire Hall in 1984. The original hall was still in use until 2013 as a fire museum and is currently being repurposed so that more residents and visitors can experience its nostalgic atmosphere.
The first Fire Chief was Alex Logan. This was a volunteer position that was held by many respected community members throughout the years. In 1964, Joe Robinson Jr., the first paid Fire Chief was hired. He also served as Parry Sounds Building Official. In 1971 the position of Fire Chief was split from the Building Official and remains that way today.
The current roster consists of 35 paid on call firefighters who dedicate themselves to serving and protecting the residents of Parry Sound through Fire Prevention activities and response to emergency situations throughout the Town of Parry Sound.